The Different Chapters of Taylor Swift’s ‘Folklore’

Universal Music/Beth Garrabrant

Taylor Swift has revealed that in her head, she has the songs on her newest album in different groups/chapters and is now revealing them.

Folklore is Swift’s eighth studio album and surprised fans with its release. She posted the surprise on Instagram saying, “Most of the things I had planned this summer didn’t end up happening, but there is something I hadn’t planned on that DID happen. And that thing is my 8th studio album, folklore. Surprise. Tonight at midnight I’ll be releasing my entire brand new album of songs I’ve poured all of my whims, dreams, fears, and musings into.”

She stated that she wrote and recorded the music in isolation, but was able to collaborate with some musical heroes of hers. She also added, “Before this year I probably would’ve overthought when to release this music at the ‘perfect’ time, but the times we’re living in keep reminding me that nothing is guaranteed. My gut is telling me that if you make something you love, you should just put it out into the world. That’s the side of uncertainty I can get on board with. Love you guys so much.”

Universal Music/Beth Garrabrant

Swift says her songs fit together thematically and make up a chapter. She is now sharing those chapters with us so we can listen to the album in a whole new perspective and have a whole new listening experience.

The first one is “folklore: the escapism chapter.” This chapter includes a total of six songs: “the lakes,” “seven,” “epiphany,” “cardigan,” “mirrorball,” and “exile.” Bon Iver is featured on “exile.” You can listen to the escapism chapter here.

The next “thematic composition,” as Swift referred to it, is “folklore: the sleepless night’s chapter.” This chapter includes six songs as well: “exile,” “hoax,” “my tears ricochet,” “illicit affairs,” “this is me trying,” and “mad woman.” You can listen here.

The third chapter is called “folklore: the saltbox house chapter.” You can listen here. This chapter includes “the last great american dynasty,” “august,” “the 1,” “seven,” “peace,” and “betty.”

These chapters definitely add something extremely special to the listening experience and give fans a little more insight on Swift’s thinking process while putting the album together. We’d love to see more musicians do this and hope Swift will continue it for future albums.