Big Sean Drops a New Album Called ‘Detroit 2’

Jamie Lamor Thompson/Shutterstock

Hip-hop artist, Big Sean released his new album Detroit 2 after putting in years of effort.

Big Sean’s new album is around 71 minutes long with 21 tracks. Some of the artists he has featured include, Post Malone, Dave Chappelle, Jhene Aiko, Erykah Badu, Lil Wayne, and more.


View this post on Instagram


Tracklist 🚀🚀 Detroit 2 tomorrow night! 🌍

A post shared by BIGSEAN (@bigsean) on

The album cover art depicts Big Sean on the east side of Detriot. Four Eastern Market street percussionists are above him. He describes them as his ‘guardian angels.’ Next to him rests a pot of roses, which has been a common theme throughout his career.

To get fans excited for the drop of his album, he posted several clips and moments on his Instagram stories. He has also been active on twitter posting his thoughts and updates. Saying that Big Sean is fervent about his new album would be an understatement.

He expressed the immense gratitude he has for his fans and even got emotional discussing the journey that has to lead him to this point in his life.

“It has been a long time coming for sure,” he shared while looking visibly emotional. “I put my first album out almost 10 years ago, so… just want to say I appreciate it.”

Growing up in Detroit, the album is an accumulation of how he feels about his city. He takes concepts about Detroit and transforms them into music. In every track, you can hear the love and passion he has.

Big Sean wants his experiences to be conveyed in the music, so much so that his listeners are transported into his mind and can feel where he came from. He mentions how Detriot has an ‘undeniable soul’ and he is able to incorporate that into his new album.

It is evident that Big Sean has an incredible passion for music and his hometown of Detroit. You can listen to his new album Detroit 2 on all streaming platforms now.