5 Seconds of Summer Released New Single ‘Teeth’

Photo: Kyusung Gong/Freeform

5 Seconds of Summer have released their newest single, “Teeth,” and it slaps.

The song features an energetic, driving bassline and catchy vocals that capture the intensity of a wild fling between two young people. The music video matches the notes of edginess in the track, set in what seems to be a dark, alternate reality dentist office dream world.

“Teeth” emanates an intensity that seems to stem from 5SOS’s more punk rock roots. The band has stated that their upcoming album will have a “darker sound”, with influences from bands like Depeche Mode and Nine Inch Nails.

The single is featured on the tracklist for season 3 of the Netflix series 13 Reasons Why alongside songs by Lauv and Charlie XCX. The full soundtrack for the season will be available for purchase on Aug. 23.

“Teeth” marks the second single released from their upcoming fourth studio album after “Easier,” which came out in May. There have been no announcements yet naming the release date or title for the new album.