‘The Hate U Give’ Soundtrack Album to be Released Oct. 12th

20th Century Fox

Def Jam Recordings will release the soundtrack album for the upcoming film The Hate U Give, starring Amandla Stenberg, a week before the film’s release.

Artists to be featured in The Hate U Give soundtrack album include Arlissa, Bobby Sessions, Jadakiss, Kendrick Lamar, Logic, Tupac Shakur, and Pusha T.

Arlissa sang “We Won’t Move” for the soundtrack album while Sessions performed the track “The Hate U Give.” Stenberg is also featured in the album with her track being listed last and titled, “Always.”

Here is the full listing of tracks in the soundtrack album:

1.  “Hold On” – Pusha T
2.  “DNA” – Kendrick Lamar
3.  “Hold You Down” – Jadakiss
4.  “Only God Can Judge Me” – 2 Pac
5.  “We Won’t Move” – Arlissa
6.  “Goosebumps” – Travis Scott
7.  “The Hate U Give” – Bobby Sessions
8.  “Keep Ya Head Up” – 2 Pac
9.  “Everybody” – Logic
10. “Kill Moe”- Beau Young Prince
11.  “Ghostfact Killers” – 21 Savage, Offset, & Metro Boomin
12.  “Left Hand Right Hand” – NBA Youngboy
13.  “Ocean Eyes” – Billie Eilish
14.  “Always” – Amandla Stenberg

20th Century Fox

The Hate U Give is a film adaptation of the 2017 best-selling novel of the same name by Angie Thomas. The novel is about Starr Carter, played by Stenberg in the film, a sixteen-year-old black girl who leads two different lives that she keeps seperate – one as a resident of the mainly poor and black neighborhood, Garden Heights, and one as a student of the mostly white and rich private school, Williamson Prep.

20th Century Fox

Starr’s life takes a turn when one night she is stopped by a white police officer in a car with her best friend Khalil after they’re leaving a party. Starr witnesses the police officer fatally shoot Khalil after he mistakes Khalil holding a hairbrush for a gun. Now Starr must find the courage to do what’s right.

20th Century Fox

The cast for The Hate U Give also includes KJ Apa, Sabrina Carpenter, Common, Russell Hornsby, Lamar Johnson, Regina Hall, Anthony Mackie, Issa Rae, and Algee Smith.

The Hate U Give was based on a short story that Thomas wrote in 2009 during her senior year in college in response to the shooting of Oscar Grant. With tragic events in the following years, including the deaths of innocent black men and women such as Michael Brown, Tamir Rice, Trayvon Martin, and Sandra Bland, and the Black Lives Matter movement, Thomas decided to transform that short story into the novel The Hate U Give.

The Hate U Give opens in theaters everywhere on October 19th, 2018.