Charli XCX Has New Music


Charli XCX, a 25-year-old pop singer, has made breaking news in the pop culture realm. With the release of her newest (and fourth) mixtape, Pop 2, this album leaves little to be desired.

Featuring artists such as Tove Lo, Carly Rae Jepson, Caroline Palchek from Chairlift, Brooke Candy, CupcakKe, ALMA, MØ, Jay Park, Tommy Cash, Kim Petras, Pabllo Vittar, and Mykki Blanco, this new release is definitely one to take note of.


Charli XCX’s third produced album, Number 1 Angel, came out March of 2017 and was something that would be seemingly hard to follow. With this album, Charli XCX pulled in major collaborators and producers such as A. G. Cook, Sophie, and King Henry – who has previously worked with artists such as Justin Bieber and Beyoncé. Needless to say, Number 1 Angel was certainly ready to go a long way.


Charli XCX also made a great name for herself when she released her song, Boys

Charli XCX – Boys [Official Video]

Angels!!! The boys video is finally here!!!!! Directed by me!!!!! So happy that this is finally out in the world!

Not only did this song go big, but so did the music video accompanying it. Streamed over 120 million times, the music video featured only famous males. Among these men were Diplo, Stormzy, Mark Ronson, Joe Jonas, Brendon Urie,, Riz Ahmed, and Mac DeMarco.


Revealing some of her thoughts on the album, she spoke to Entertainment Weekly and Vulture. When speaking with Entertainment Weekly, she states that she didn’t know if she was going to put out this album. However, when she did, she said that she preferred a rushed date. She said, ““I like to work best is when it’s a bit in a rush,” she says. “’It’s probably really stressful for [my label], but it works for me.’” (Entertainment Weekly). When speaking with Vulture, she said “The way that I work and write is so fast, and releasing these mixtapes is very beneficial to that. I get so frustrated having to sit on music.'” (Vulture). Despite her different stance on producing, she still managed to release an amazing mixtape.

The Pop 2 tracklist is as follows:

  1. Backseat (ft. Carly Rae Jepson)
  2. Out of my head (ft Tov Lo and ALMA)
  3. Lucky
  4. Tears (ft. Caroline Polachek)
  5. I Got It (ft. Brooke Candy, CupcakKe and Pabllo Vittar)
  6. Femmebot (ft. Dorian Electra and Mykki Blanko(
  7. Delicious (ft. Tommy Cash)
  8. Unlock it (ft. Kim Petras and Jay Park)
  9. Porsche (ft. MØ)
  10. Track 10

With such big names being featured in Charli XCX’s new album, there is assumed a great bond between the singers.

Tov Lo said, “’My Favorite thing when songs happen through friendship and like-minded party souls.’”

Carly Rae Jepson shared her kind words about Charli XCX when saying, “’Charli has always been someone I look up to as a writer and boss in the business.’”

Kim Petras showed her appreciation by saying “’Charli always kills is – I’m so proud to be on this mixtape.’”

These are just some of the many appreciative thoughts shared by the many singers featured on Charli’s album.

At the end of the day, I think it’s safe to say that Charli XCX’s album is more than worth the time to listen and the price to buy. If you haven’t gotten the chance to check it out, you won’t be disappointed.