CMT Announces First All-Female Artists of the Year Gala

Maren Morris | CMT

CMT makes history with an Artists of the Year celebration honoring female country artists.

Carrie Underwood | CMT

CMT’s Artists of the Year Gala is an annual concert event that celebrates influential country music artists. This year, for the first time ever, all of those artists are women.

Miranda Lambert | CMT

Seven powerhouses comprise the list of the 2018 honorees: Kelsea Ballerini, Miranda Lambert, Maren Morris, Karen Fairchild and Kimberly Schlapman (of Sugarland), Hillary Scott (of Lady Antebellum), and Carrie Underwood.

Hillary Scott (of Lady Antebellum) | CMT

Over the past few years, country music fans have begun to speak out about inequalities in the traditionally male-dominated industry. Though countless talented female artists are producing new music, their songs rarely see any radio play, barring women from appearing on country charts.

Kelsea Ballerini | CMT

Though CMT’s decision to honor all women as their Artists of the Year won’t fix every inequality within country music, it is certainly a step in the right direction. The televised event will ultimately offer talented female artists a major platform through which to reach potential new fans, and showcase just how important women are to the music industry.   

Karen Fairchild and Kimberly Schlapman (of Sugarland) | CMT

CMT’s Artists of the Year Gala will air on October 17th.